Quick Links

Useful Links

Evington Valley Primary School


The Governors of Evington Valley are made up of representatives from parents, staff and the Local Authority. Co-opted members, who usually work or live in the immediate area, take up remaining places. The full Governing body meets once a term with separate meetings for the Finance and Personal committee, School Improvement committee and Safeguarding committee. The Governing Body have completed a reconstitution and the structure in the table below is the outcome of this process.

The governing body regularly reviews their structure and when necessary completes a reconstitution:

The current Governing Body Structure is:

Category Number  Appointment Route
Parent Governor 5 Parent Governors must at the time of appointment have a child attending the school. A parent governor is elected by the parent body.
Headteacher 1 The Headteacher of the school may choose whether or not they take up their right to be part of the governing body.
Staff Governor 1 Staff Governors are nominated and elected by the staff of the school.
Local Authority 1 Governors who have been nominated by the Local Authority.
Co-opted Governors 4

Under the new constitution it has been agreed that 1 of the 4 co-opted governors will be a staff governor. A co-opted staff governor will be elected initially by the staff of the school but it is the governing body that confirms the appointment.

The remaining 3 co-opted governors are likely to be self-nominated and must provide a pen portrait of themselves for consideration. The governing body determines the appointment of co-opted governors.

Total Number of Governors: 12

Details of any Governor vacancies can be found further down this page. 
Governors play an active role in the running of the school. Their main roles are:

  • being accountable for the performance of the school to parents and the wider community
  • making decisions about the school’s budget and staffing
  • making sure that the school provides for all of its pupils, including those with Special Educational Needs
  • deciding how the school can encourage spiritual, moral and social development
  • planning the school’s future direction

Representatives of the Governing body are available at most school functions, including parent evenings, fund raising events and special assemblies. The Governors visit the classrooms each term on a rota basis to monitor the teaching and learning. Governors meet with the Headteacher and subject co-ordinators and are kept up to date about various initiatives and plans for a particular area of the curriculum. Lessons are observed, work is looked at and there are opportunities for the visiting Governor to talk to the children.

The Governors are responsible for formulating a number of school policies. If you wish to contact a Governor, please contact the school office with your details which will then be passed to the Governor concerned.

List of Governors

Name Type of Governor Link Governor Responsibility Terms of Office Register of Interests Attendance Records 19-20
Mrs H. Sidat Coopted Governor
May 2020 - May 2024 None 90%
Mr F. Subedar Coopted Governor
Vice Chair
Maths May 2020 - May 2024 None 63%
Mrs R. Karim LA Governor EYFS Nov 2018 - Nov 2022 None 100%
Mrs J. Griffin Headteacher n/a April 2001 None 90%
Mr A. Manning Staff Governor
Teaching Staff
Safeguarding Nov 2019 - Nov 2023 None 86%
Mrs F. Ali Parent Governor Attendance October 2019 - October 2023 None 100%
Mrs Z. Shaikh Parent Governor SEND Sept 2020 - Sept 2024 None N/A
Mrs A. Haleem Parent Governor Sept 2020 - Sept 2024 None N/A
Mrs J. Hussain Parent Governor Pupil Premium Oct 2020 - Oct 2024 None None
Vacancy Parent Governor
Ms. J. Denning Co-opted Governor Oracy April 2019 - April 2023 None 100%
Miss C. Jones     Co-opted Governor March 2021 – March 2025 None N/A

 Membership of Committees

School Improvement Committee Finance & Personnel Safeguarding
Ms J. Denning (Chair) Mrs H. Sidat (Chair - Personnel, Vice Chair - Finance) Mr A. Manning (Chair)
Mrs F. Ali (Vice Chair) Mr F. Subedar (Chair Finance, vice chair of Personnel Mrs R. Karim (Vice Chair)
Mrs H. Sidat Mrs J. Griffin Mrs J. Griffin
Mrs J. Griffin Mrs Z. Shaikh Mrs H. Sidat
Mr F. Subedar Mr A. Manning Mrs Z. Shaikh
Mrs. Z. Shaikh Miss C. Ahern - Business Manager (Ex-officio)
Mrs A. Haleem Mr L. Bland - Premises Officer (Ex-officio)
Mrs J. Hussain Mrs E. Hafesje - Teaching Assistant (Ex-officio)

Clerk to Governors - Mrs P Crommentuijn Marsh
Clerk to Committees - Miss C Ahern

 Governor Vacancies

There are currently 2 positions available; 1 Parent Governor and 1 Co-opted Governor. Please contact the school for more information.